top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAnnabelle Barton

Why I am under-represented as a petite woman in the fashion industry

The fashion industry is a society I look into with hope and future progression. Hence, why I feel this topic needs to be more openly discussed. From a young age, the fit of my clothing in every aspect of life has been completely different to my peers. This started from primary school when the summer dress uniform was to my ankles rather than up to my knee, even though it was the smallest size available. Now being a petite woman standing at four foot ten inches, with hips, thighs, boobs and a size two shoe the struggle for the 'perfect' fit of anything is almost impossible.


High street stores and online stores such as Pretty Little Thing and Asos, have begun to include 'petite' fashion within their stores and sites. What I always question is the limited options and sizes available, the demand is here! I believe there should not be a section for this body type such as, plus-size, petite, tall. This is segregating these women from what society has told us is the 'normal' body. Height is not something we can change, so why has it not yet been addressed more within the industry?


As a young creative about to graduate, I feel the desire to make an impact in the industry I wish to work in. Petite fashion is an area lacking discussion, from high street all the way to couture fashion. Working in both Paris and London fashion weeks recently, I realised it is not a priority, this is because there isn't enough awareness about the fit of clothes. Models remained the same size in all shows and meetings I was witness too, this is what is seen as the standard size and height. Expectation to adjust your body to appeal to social standards is being integrated into society and affecting very young teenagers, this is thanks to the vast exposure on social media platforms.


After researching into the topic of body representation it was clear to me that this issue goes way beyond changing the thoughts of the most influential in the fashion industry. It has to start with education in fashion design schools, the likes of Mal Burkinshaw is proving that teaching students to design for the person rather than the size is a more emotional and rewarding way of learning. This gave me hope that the industry that I love is progressing and moving to a place of acceptance of all bodies without judgement.



'Pint Sized' is an online magazine that celebrates petite woman of all kinds. The purpose of this magazine is to highlight the pre-conceptions of petite women, it questions and rebels against these ideas, but also celebrates our body type, by juxtaposing the standard size of 'normal' models.

This image is a preview of what can be expected to come in 'PINT SIZED'

Creative Direction, Make-up: Annabelle Barton

Model: Liv Beattie

Hair: Megan Mathews

Styling: Charlotte Wilcock

Photography and Post Production: Arabella Itani


23 views0 comments

Commentaires


bottom of page